Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: about python 3 support  (Read 6044 times)
jice
Administrator
Master

View Profile WWW
« on: January 07, 2009, 05:48:59 PM »

Python 3 is not supported yet.

All strings in python 3 are unicode and must be converted back to ascii before being sent to libtcod.

The current wrapper might work with python3, but you'll have to convert all strings to ASCII (b"my string" syntax instead of "my string").
« Last Edit: September 07, 2011, 04:53:23 PM by jice » Logged
Jotaf
Global Moderator
Master

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 07:22:27 PM »

How about making a fast unicode->ascii conversion function in libtcod, and using it from python? I'm not an expert in the area of character codes but usually generic implementations deal with many cases that your specific application may not need to be concerned with. You only need to map 256 characters, after all...
« Last Edit: January 11, 2009, 07:31:04 PM by Jotaf » Logged
Hex Decimal
Swordsman

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 06:49:32 AM »

Is there a reason why Python's ctypes function argtypes are not being defined?  Python uses that to convert Python values to C values and has to guess what C wants without it.
jice
Administrator
Master

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2009, 08:40:25 PM »

How about making a fast unicode->ascii conversion function in libtcod, and using it from python? I'm not an expert in the area of character codes but usually generic implementations deal with many cases that your specific application may not need to be concerned with. You only need to map 256 characters, after all...

mmh that needs to be benchmarked. I'm not sure calling a conversion function through ctypes would be faster than python's native function.

Is there a reason why Python's ctypes function argtypes are not being defined?  Python uses that to convert Python values to C values and has to guess what C wants without it.